clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Best Players of the Roy Williams Era: Round One, Part Two

Here’s the second half of the bracket for the best of the best in the Roy Williams era. Let the debates continue.

Al Bello/Getty Images

A few days ago, we posted the initial 16 players in the Best of the Roy Williams bracket. I ranted about old age, did my best old man on the porch impersonation through usage of words like "whippersnapper", and we saw some pretty intriguing matchups.

This group features more great players from the 1990’s and early 2000’s and I have again included some statistics on these players so our younger commenters and writers can make a more informed decision. One thing I noticed with these players is that the seven and eight seeds really don’t stack up as well as the seven and eight seeds from the Bill Self era. I really felt like I was reaching with a few of the picks (Earl and Axtell at least). Perhaps it was because there were more players that played all four years, and therefore, there have been more players in the Self era in less time, or maybe Self has just had better players. It’s probably a bit of both. Anyway, here is the last group of sixteen. I again added links to some visuals if you have no idea what the player looks like because you are too young to have seen them play.

Matchups (with the bare minimum of stats, old man style):

1 Nick Collison (Four seasons, 142 games, 14.8 PPG, 8.0 RPG)

8 Mike Maddox (Four seasons, 123 games, 7.7 PPG, 3.0 RPG)

4 Ryan Robertson (Four seasons, 142 games, 7.4 PPG, 3.4 APG)

5 Eric Chenowith (Four seasons, 139 games, 9.2 PPG, 6.7 RPG)

3 Jeff Boschee (Four seasons, 137 games, 11.4 PPG, 3.1 APG)

6 Richard Scott (Four seasons, 137 games, 10.0 PPG, 4.4 RPG)

2 Drew Gooden (Three seasons, 98 games, 15.6 PPG, 9.2 APG)

7 Michael Lee (Four seasons, 118 games, 4.2 PPG, 1.8 RPG)

1 Raef Lafrentz (Four seasons, 131 games, 15.8 PPG, 9.1 RPG)

8 Luke Axtell (Two seasons, 39 games, 7.0 PPG, 2.7 RPG)

4 Billy Thomas (Four seasons, 137 games, 8.4 PPG, 2.1 APG)

5 Jeff Graves (Two seasons, 69 games, 6.2 PPG, 5.9 RPG)

3 Keith Langford (Four seasons, 138 games, 9.0 PPG, 3.4 RPG)

6 Steve Woodberry (Four seasons, 70 games, 13.5 PPG, 3.0 RPG)

2 Jacque Vaughn (Four seasons, 126 games, 9.6 PPG, 6.4 APG)

7 Kenny Gregory (Four seasons, 136 games, 11.4 PPG, 4.4 RPG)

Here it is in bracket form.

bracket 2a

As always, put your votes in the comments. We’ll give it until 10:00 PM on Friday to get the votes in.