clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoffs Set

Who got in and who got snubbed?

Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

In the latest sham to attempt to determine a national champion in college football, the first ever "playoffs" for Division 1 college football are set.

#1 Alabama will face #4 Ohio State while #2 Oregon faces off against #3 Florida State.

The "first round" will be played on January 1, 2015 at the Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA) and the Sugar Bowl (New Orleans, LA).  The championship will be on January 12 at AT&T Stadium (Arlington, TX).

Baylor and TCU were obvious snubs by the committee.  Obviously no two-loss teams were included in the playoff, which includes teams like Michigan State, Mississippi State, and Boise State.  One-loss Marshall was never seriously considered either.

Yes, it's more of a "playoff" than the BCS, but it's still not a real playoff.  There's absolutely no reason that Baylor and TCU don't deserve a shot at this.  It's better than what we had (the BCS), but there's still a lot of room for improvement.