clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas Football 2013: James Sims Named to Doak Walker Watch List

James Sims Named to Doak Walker Watch List

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE

If you had to name one Kansas Jayhawk football player that was truly deserving of any sort of national attention, it would have to be James Sims. Since his arrival in Lawrence Sims has been a bright spot in a struggling Kansas program and last year, after a three game suspension, he excelled out of the backfield in an offense that was truly one dimensional.

The fact that Sims was so productive when everyone knew what was coming is a testament to his work ethic, football IQ and overall talent. Sims runs with a very apparent patience, but he's also added a little bit of a burst since the arrival of Charlie Weis. While the competition continues to increase in the Kansas backfield, there's nothing to indicate that Sims won't continue to respond to that competition.

Today Sims was rewarded for what he's done by being named to the preseason Doak Walker award list. Yes these preseason watch lists don't mean much, but this Kansas football team is pretty thin on any kind of recognition coming off of a 1-11 season and quite frankly it's hard to argue that anyone really deserves it. James Sims is one player who does and hopefully it's going to be a fun year watching Sims and the rest of the Kansas backfield make some noise.

Here's the full list:

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
Michael Alisa, BYU
Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky
Dri Archer, Kent State
Brendan Bigelow, California
Beau Blankenship, Ohio
Alfred Blue, LSU
Dominique Brown, Louisville
Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
B.J. Catalon, TCU
Orleans Darkwa, Tulane
Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech
Trayion Durham, Kent State
Jahwan Edwards, Ball State
David Fluellen, Toledo
D.J. Foster, Arizona State
Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Marion Grice, Arizona State
Todd Gurley, Georgia
Joe Hill, Utah State
John Hubert, Kansas State
Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
Waymon James, TCU
Duke Johnson, Miami
Storm Johnson, UCF
Matt Jones, Florida
Henry Josey, Missouri
Ben Malena, Texas A&M
Raymond Maples, Army
Venric Mark, Northwestern
Keith Marshall, Georgia
Glasco Martin, Baylor
Tre Mason, Auburn
Lyle McCombs, Connecticut
Adam Muema, San Diego State
David Oku, Arkansas State
Branden Oliver, Buffalo
Jordan Parker, Middle Tennessee
LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
Senorise Perry, Louisville
Christian Powell, Colorado
Darrin Reaves, UAB
Silas Redd, USC
Bishop Sankey, Washington
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor
David Sims, Georgia Tech
James Sims, Kansas
Kiero Small, Arkansas
Jeremy Smith, Oklahoma State
Jerome Smith, Syracuse
De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
Zurlon Tipton, Central Michigan
Trey Watts, Tulsa
Mark Weisman, Iowa
James White, Iowa State
James White, Wisconsin
Andre Williams, Boston College
Damien Williams, Oklahoma
Jamaal Williams, BYU
Jonathan Williams, Arkansas
Storm Woods, Oregon State
T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
Zach Zwinak, Penn State