clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kansas Football Lands Four on All Big 12 Teams

Kansas Football Lands Four on All Big 12 Teams


The All Big 12 teams, as voted on by the coaches, were announced today and Kansas has representation. Four Jayhawks were named to the second team All Big 12 on either offense and defense. While it's a moderate improvement, it is improvement over the past two seasons and a very small sign that hopefully a better coaching staff is getting more out of the Jayhawk roster.

James Sims and Tanner Hawkinson were named to the second team offensive unit. Hawkinson set a record this year for most starts by a Kansas player and he has been a staple on the offensive line through four coaches. Sims sat for three games to start the year but reentered the lineup and became the most productive Jayhawk on offense by far. Sims will be back for a senior campaign next year, while Hawkinson will potentially look to get a shot at the next level.

Defensively Ben Heeney and Bradley McDougald made the list. Heeney is in his first year as a starter and really developed into a solid player in the middle for Kansas. McDougald drew praise from Charlie Weis from the beginning and he led a secondary that experienced some struggles but also looked less like swiss cheese than years past. It wasn't perfect or as consistent as we would have liked, but McDougald made quite a few plays for an improved Kansas defense, at least based on the eyeball test.

Hawinson also received honorable mention as offensive lineman of the year while Tony Pierson was honorable mention all conference.

Offensive Player of the Year
Collin Klein, Kansas State, QB, Sr, Loveland, Colo.
Defensive Player of the Year
Arthur Brown, Kansas State, LB, Sr, Wichita, Kan.
Offensive Newcomer of the Year
Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, RB, So, Temple, Texas
Offensive Lineman of the Year
Cyril Richardson, Baylor, Jr, Fort Worth, Texas
Defensive Newcomer of the Year
Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, DT, Jr, Tulsa, Okla.
Defensive Lineman of the Year
Meshak Williams, Kansas State, DE, Sr, Sylvester, Ga.
Offensive Freshman of the Year
J.W. Walsh, Oklahoma State, QB, Denton, Texas
Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Nick Florence, Baylor, QB, Sr, Garland, Texas
Defensive Freshman of the Year
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE, Arlington, Texas (unanimous)
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year
Bill Snyder, Kansas State, 21st Season
Co-Special Teams Players of the Year
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State, PK/P, Sr, Mansfield, Texas
Tavon Austin, West Virginia, KR/PR, Sr, Baltimore, Md.

Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Collin Klein K-State Sr. Loveland, Colo./Loveland
RB Joseph Randle** Oklahoma State Jr. Wichita, Kan./Southeast
RB John Hubert K-State Jr. Waco, Texas/Midway
FB Trey Millard # Oklahoma Jr. Columbia, Mo./Rock Bridge
WR Terrance Williams Baylor Sr. Dallas, Texas/W.T. White
WR Tavon Austin West Virginia Sr. Baltimore, Md./Dunbar
WR Stedman Bailey West Virginia Jr. Miramar, Fla./Miramar
TE Travis Tannahill K-State Sr. Overland Park, Kan./Olathe East
OL Cyril Richardson Baylor Jr. Fort Worth, Texas/North Crowley
OL Cornelius Lucas K-State Jr. New Orleans, La./Edna Karr
OL Gabe Ikard** # Oklahoma Jr. Oklahoma City, Okla./Bishop McGuinness
OL Lane Taylor** Oklahoma State Sr. Arlington, Texas/Martin
OL LaAdrian Waddle Texas Tech Sr. Columbus, Texas/Columbus
PK Quinn Sharp # Oklahoma State Sr. Mansfield, Texas/Summit
KR/PR Tavon Austin West Virginia Sr. Baltimore, Md./Dunbar
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Jake McDonough Iowa State Sr. Urbandale, Iowa/Valley
DL Meshak Williams K-State Sr. Sylvester, Ga./Hutchinson CC
DL Calvin Barnett Oklahoma State Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Navarro CC
DL Devonte Fields TCU Fr. Arlington, Texas/Martin
DL Stansly Maponga TCU Jr. Carrollton, Texas/Hebron
DL Alex Okafor # Texas Sr. Pflugerville, Texas/Pflugerville
LB A.J. Klein # Iowa State Sr. Kimberly, Wis./Kimberly
LB Jake Knott Iowa State Sr. Waukee, Iowa/Waukee
LB Arthur Brown** # K-State Sr. Wichita, Kan./Miami
DB Ty Zimmerman K-State Jr. Junction City, Kan./Junction City
DB Aaron Colvin Oklahoma Jr. Owasso, Okla./Owasso
DB Tony Jefferson Oklahoma Jr. Chula Vista, Calif./Eastlake
DB Jason Verrett TCU Jr. Fairfield, Calif./Santa Rosa JC
DB Kenny Vaccaro Texas Sr. Brownwood, Texas/Early
P Quinn Sharp # Oklahoma State Jr. Mansfield, Texas/Summit
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
QB Geno Smith West Virginia Sr. Miami, Fla./Miramara
RB James Sims Kansas Jr. Irving, Texas/MacArthur
RB Damien Williams Oklahoma Jr. San Diego, Calif./Arizona Western
FB Kye Staley Oklahoma State Jr. Guthrie, Okla./Guthrie
WR Chris Harper K-State Sr. Wichita, Kan./Oregon
WR Kenny Stills ^ Oklahoma Jr. Encinitas, Calif./La Costa Canyon
WR Darrin Moore Texas Tech Sr. Irving, Texas/McArthur/Blinn College
TE Jace Amaro Texas Tech So. San Antonio, Texas/MacArthur
OL Tanner Hawkinson Kansas Sr. McPherson, Kan./McPherson
OL Lane Johnson Oklahoma Sr. Groveton, Texas/Kilgore College
OL Blaize Foltz TCU Sr. Rose Hill, Kan./Rose Hill
OL Trey Hopkins Texas Jr. Galena Park, Texas/North Shore
OL Joe Madsen West Virginia Sr. Chardon, Ohio/Chardon
PK Anthony Cantele K-State Sr. Wichita, Kan./Kapaun Mt. Carmel
KR/PR Justin Gilbert Oklahoma State Jr. Huntsville, Texas/Huntsville
Pos. Player School Class Hometown/Previous School
DL Adam Davis K-State Sr. Folkston, Ga./Hutchinson CC
DL Vai Lutui K-State Sr. Salt Lake City, Utah/Mt. San Antonio CC
DL David King Oklahoma Sr. Houston, Texas/Strake Jesuit Prep
DL Chucky Hunter TCU So. West Monroe, La./West Monroe
DL Kerry Hyder Texas Tech Jr. Austin, Texas/Lyndon B. Johnson
LB Bryce Hager Baylor So. Austin, Texas/Westlake
LB Ben Heeney Kansas So. Hutchinson, Kan./Hutchinson
LB Kenny Cain TCU Sr. Metaire, La./John Curtis Christian
DB Cody Davis Texas Tech Sr. Stephenville, Texas/Stephenville
DB Durrell Givens Iowa State Sr. Long Beach, Calif./Chaffey College
DB Sam Carter TCU So. Alief, Texas/Hastings
DB Bradley McDougald Kansas Sr. Columbus, Ohio/Scioto
DB D.J. Johnson Texas Tech Sr. Austin, Texas/St. Stephen's Episcopal
DB Demontre Hurst ^ Oklahoma Sr. Lancaster, Texas/Lancaster
P Kirby Van Der Kamp Iowa State Jr. West Des Moines, Iowa/Valley