clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2009 Kansas Football Awards Announced

Saturday night the Kansas Jayhawk football team held it's annual football banquet handing out a few individual player honors and reflecting back on the season that was.  No doubt 2009 didn't end the way anyone anticipated or hoped, but Kansas still says goodbye to several great players that will go down in history as some of the best to put on a Kansas uniform.

2009 Football Awards Listed After the Jump...

2009 Kansas Football Awards

Senior Academic Scholar - Todd Reesing

Otto Schnellbacher (Offensive Scout Player of the Year) - Deshaun Sands

George Mrkonic (Defensive Scout Player of the Year) - Kevin Young

Offensive Lineman of the Year - Brad Thorson

Iron Hawk (Weight Room) - Jake Sharp

Nolan Cromwell (Leadership) - Kerry Meier

Don Fambrough (Unselfish) - Kerry Meier and Chris Harris

Gale Sayers (Most Courageous) - Sal Capra

Bruce Kallmeyer (Special Teams) - Kayl Anderson

John Hadl (Offensive MVP) - Todd Reesing

Ray Evans (Defensive MVP) - Jake Laptad

Most Improved Offensive Player - Tanner Hawkinson

Most Improved Defensive Player - Drew Dudley

Galen Fiss (Campus and Community Service) - Darrell Stuckey

Willie Pless (Most Tackles) - Darrell Stuckey