clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tony Thompson makes Big-12 First Team, David Narodowski newcomer of the year. Afenir, Heere and Walz on the second team.

The Big-12 announced season end awards this morning.  Eight Jayhawks were honored:


Newcomer of the year: David Narodowski

All Big-12 First Team: Tony Thompson

All Big-12 Second Team: Buck Afenir, Brian Heere and T.J. Walz

Honorable Mention: Shaeffer Hall, Robby Price and Paul Smyth


These awards are chosen by the 10 conference head coaches.  Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players.  I was hopeful that Tony Thompson would become the first Jayhawk to be named Big-12 Player of the Year.  The award went to Oklahoma senior catcher J.T. Wise, and it is hard to get too upset about this selection.  I thought Thompson had the overall better resume, but Wise had an excellent year at the plate, played a position which rarely provides offensive punch and he is a senior while Tony is a sophomore.  I am a little surprised to not see Nardowski also named in the Honorable Mention category.


A.J. Morris of Kansas State was named Pitcher of the Year.  Morris and Kyle Gibson of the Missouri were the two front-runners for this award.  Morris lead the conference in ERA (1.61) wins (12) and innings pitched (100.2).


Garrett Buechele (3B Oklahoma) won freshman of the year.  Brad Hill (KSU) was named Coach of the year.


Yesterday Buck Afenir was named Big-12 Player of the week.  As anyone who attended the KSU series can attest, Afenir was in the zone all weekend.  He went 6-11 with two homeruns and six RBIs in the three games.


KU’s series win over Kansas State did not get the Jayhawks back into the Baseball America top-25 poll, but the Hawks did make their first appearance in the poll at #24.